BookTube-A-Thon 2017 // TBR

It’s BookTube-A-Thon time!!! The best reading time of the year, although a bit stressful. I participated in BookTube-A-Thon two years ago but without a TBR or an actual plan. I just read what I wanted and I believe I didn’t even finish one challenge – I just wanted to read at the same time as other people and participate in the conversations and reading sprints on twitter.

This year, I’m going to try something new. I will set up my TBR, but I’m such a mood reader that I don’t think I will stick to it. Either way, I’ll try.

“What a second, Raquel… what is BookTube-A-Thon?” Well, thank you for asking my friend! It’s a week long event (July 24th-July 30th) where people get together (virtually) to reaaaaaad all week, non-stop. There are challenges, fun videos and Instagram pictures, as well as contests and giveaways! It’s pretty exciting if you like to binge-read. Not so exciting if you have too much anxiety like me. BUT I will definitely slow things down a bit and read as I go,without putting too much pressure on me since this is supposed to be fun! If you want to find out more about it, watch the official video here.

This year, we have 7 great challenges (watch the video here):

  1. Read a book with a person on the cover;
  2. Read a hyped book;
  3. Finish a book in one day;
  4. Read about a character that is very different from you;
  5. Finish a book completely outdoors;
  6. Read a book you bought because of the cover;
  7. Read 7 books.

I’ve been in a very weird mood and I haven’t been reading as much as I wanted to this year. I’m not even calling it a reading slump because I want to read but I can’t bring myself to finish a book or read it enough to fully get into it. However, this past weekend I started a book by R.S. Grey and I read it so fast as I enjoyed it so much!! It finally got me into reading fast, but I’m still afraid of going back to the way I’ve been this past year. Thus, I decided to include a lot of other R.S. Grey in my TBR and that will consolidate my “getting-back-into-finishing-books” mood. I probably won’t finish these 7 book in a week because I don’t read that fast and c’mon, I don’t have that many expectations for myself! With that being said, my TBR for those challenges are:

  1. The Allure of Julian Lefray by R.S. Grey
  2. A Darker Shade of Magic or Vicious by V.E. Schwab or Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  3. The Allure of Dean Harper by R.S. Grey
  4. The Martian by Andy Weir
  5. Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey or The Foxe and the Hound by R.S. Grey
  6. The Graces by Laure Eve
  7. Coming Up for Air by Miranda Kenneally

The R.S. Grey books can be switched up between them and don’t have to necessarily be in that order, because they all have a person on the cover, I can finish them in a day and I will probably read them all outdoors, by the pool.

Anyway, this isn’t a definite TBR because, like I said, I’m a mood reader and that’s what I feel like reading now, but I’m not sure if I’ll feel like reading them during BookTube-A-Thon. Nonetheless, I will update you on what I’ll read on my twitter and then I’ll hopefully write a wrap-up post.

Are you participating in BookTube-A-Thon this year? Do you have a TBR? Let me know in the comments or link me to your TBR post/video/Instagram post. 

44e89-signature

 

2 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon 2017 // TBR

    • it really is interesting, you should participate as well! it’s a great way to get some reading done, even if you don’t end up reading 7 books 🙂

      awww thank you! Love youuuu ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

